Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Recordings
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today

MARKS and SPARKS - Roger Marks

MARKS and SPARKS - Roger Marks
CD / Product Number: URCD278

This compilation of tracks from 1990 - 2017 features a number of line-ups who all have one thing in common - a two-man front line. This format is always a meeting of minds, a musical conversation where being a 'good listener' is every bit as important as expressing one's one ideas. The combination of trombone and reeds - be it clarinet or saxophone - is present on all tracks, but each partnership takes on its own distinctive sound.
Another aspect of these performances is that there are no arrangements here, and because these encounters were few and far between with no time to rehearse, there is but one option - stand up the microphone and play! It's time honoured tradition in the world of jazz and most of all, it's fun!


Tracks 1, 5, 11, 13 Roger Marks' Quartet with Bruce Turner alto sax and clarinet recorded 1990
Tracks 2, 9, 12, 15 Roger Marks and his Mainstreamers featuring Ken Rennison tenor and alto sax recorded 2002
Track 3 Roger Marks' Quintet recorded 1989 featuring Terry Sloggett alto sax
Tracks 4 and 8 Pete Allen Hot Five recorded 2017 with Pete Allen clarinet and alto sax
Track 6 Roger Marks and his Mainstreamers recorded 2011 with Julian-Marc Stringle clarinet
Tracks 7, 10, 14 Roger Marks and his Mainstreamers recorded 2007 with Julian-Marc Stringle clarinet.

1. Crazy Rhythm
2. Kiss To Build A Dream On
3. Games People Play
4. Am I Blue
5. Oh! Lady Be Good
6. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
7. I'll See You In My Dreams
8. The Jamfs Are Coming
9. Undecided
10. I Can't Believe That You're In Love with Me
11. Caravan
12. Whispering
13. St. Thomas
14. 'Til There Was You
15. Struttin' With Some Barbecue

Reviews of This Recording

This CD compilation is an example of all that is good about British jazz. Note also that it is remarkable how Roger has kept up this standard over almost 30 years....I want to say how much I enjoyed this CD. It is a real gem.
Barry Clare - Just Jazz